The Good Gold Guide

8KT - 9Kt,14kt and 18kt 333, 585 and 750 gold. All these are numbers & shorthand symbol that you have surely read before while scrolling through Jewelleryshops.

In this blog we summarized what the individual numbers, shorthand symbol and values mean:

First of all: 

kt, k or C is the abbreviation for carat 

Carat: The designation carat is used to indicate the fineness of gold and indicates the proportion by weight of pure gold in the total mass of a gold alloy

8kt = 333er gold
14kt = 585er gold
18kt = 750er gold 

The main difference between jewellery made of 333er, 585erand 750er gold is the purity of the gold.

333er gold has a fine gold content of 33.3%. Jewellery  made of 333er gold is often mixed with a very high percentage of copper. This jewellery  is often recognizable by a slightly reddish gold tone.

585er gold has a fine gold content of 58.5%. The other components in jewellery  with a purity of 585 gold are also silver and copper.

750er have a fine gold content of 75%. The other components are silver and copper. Since we not only create new jewellery in our factory but also recycle the old gold, we can be sure that no allergenic substances are added to our jewellery. 

We work in our manufactory exclusively with 750er gold, that we win from 100% recycled gold.

Gold is a very sustainable material, because it can be re-melted and re-processed over and over again. We are proud to say that since 2021 we have been working exclusively with 100% recycled gold.

Recycled gold, our good gold is mainly obtained by buying old gold. Old pieces of jewellery but also electrical scrap containing real gold are processed in a refinery. The material is melted down and then broken down into its individual components.

If you have further questions- we are pleased to hear from you! 

E <3 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published